All Collections
Account management
Adding users to Turtl
Adding, removing, and editing user roles
Adding, removing, and editing user roles

Find out how to add new users and remove or edit existing users of your Team Turtl account

Nastja Sodin avatar
Written by Nastja Sodin
Updated today

If you are an Admin & Global Admin for your Team Turtl account you can add, remove, and edit users.

In this article, we will cover:

User Roles and Permissions

There are 2 license types in Turtl, Full User and Limited User. These license types dictate which permissions the user can have access to on the Team, and also imply the Roles that can be assigned on Workspaces.

Full user

A Full User can be assigned Global Admin (upon request), Admin and Brand Manager permissions, and any Workspace Role.

Limited user

A Limited User can be assigned the Integrations Manager permission and a Reviewer, Analyst, and Personalizer Role in a Workspace.

First, you’ll need to choose which license type the user should have. Once you have selected the license type you can then choose if the user should have additional permissions on the Team. These additional permissions are available for users who need to manage specific functionality on the Team.


Workspace Roles

Next, you’ll select which Role the user will have within the Workspaces.

Owner:

- Can rename or delete the Workspace

- Can manage members

- Has full privileges on Turtl Docs and personalizations

Publisher:

- Has full privileges on Turtl Docs and personalizations

Editor:

- Has full privileges on Turtl Docs and personalizations, except publish/unpublish

Personalizer:

- Can only view Turtl Docs and leave comments

- Can create, view, and analyze personalizations

- Can also see the personalization

Analyst:

- Can only view Turtl Docs, access analytics, and leave comments

Reviewer:

- Can only view Turtl Docs and leave comments

Note:

  • The number of "Analyst" and "Reviewer" licenses is unlimited on all plans.

  • An unlimited number of "Personalizer" licenses is available with a Professional or Unlimited plan if the Personalization module is purchased.

  • All other roles are paid for - see our pricing page for a more detailed breakdown of the pricing.


Additional Permissions

Global Admin:

A Global Admin user has access to all functionality on the Team including managing users, integrations, branding, and workspaces. They automatically have access to all workspaces without being actively added to them and all analytics in the Team.

They can:

- Create, edit, and publish content on any workspace

- Add, remove, and manage users

- Manage account settings

- Create, edit, and manage templates and Brand Themes

- Manage and view integrations

- Add, remove, and create labels

- Create and manage workspaces

Note: This additional permission is only accessible upon request. Please speak with your Account Manager or Customer Success Manager if you’d like to use this additional permission.

Admin:

An Admin user has access to all functionality on the Team including managing users, integrations, branding, and Workspaces. They only have access to the Team Workspaces, which they have been added to.

They can:

- Add, remove, and manage users in Workspaces where they have the role of Owner

- Manage account settings

- Create, edit, and manage templates and Brand Themes

- Manage and view integrations

- Add, remove, and create labels

- Create and manage Workspaces

Brand Manager:

- Can only manage branding (Brand Themes and templates)

Integrations Manager:

- Can only manage integrations

Note: Please note only support@turtl.co can delete integrations on your account.


Adding a new user

There is an 'Invite users' button in the Home view that allows Admins and Global Admins to quickly add new users. Keep in mind that default settings can be preselected when you invite a new user to join Turtl.

The same Settings are available on the Users page on the left-hand navigation panel.

Note: If you cannot see the user tab you do not have the correct permission level to add users to the team account and will need to ask the Admin & Global Admin of the account to complete this for you.

A pop-up window will appear where you will complete the fields.

Users can be added to the default Workspace with the default Workspace role which may have been preselected, or Admins & Global Admins can choose a different Workspace and role.

If multiple users they will be added to all Workspaces and roles selected.

The invite can also be customized to add an Additional permissions or require SSO login.

After you are done, simply click on 'Invite'.

You will receive an on-screen message to confirm that the user has been invited to create their user account.

The new user will receive an email to the email address you provided inviting them to create their own Turtl user account. They need to follow the verification link within the email and will be prompted to create their password in line with your Team's password policy. That's it - they are then ready to get started with Turtl.

What if the new user hasn't received the welcome email?

If your new user does not receive the welcome email please try the following:

  • Check that the email address you input is correct.

  • Check that the email hasn't been directed to the user's junk mail folder.

  • Resend the activation email using the button next to their name (see below).

Note: Once the user has activated their account using the email verification link the option to resend the activation email will not be available to you. If the user cannot log in, please ask them to reset their password.


Filtering users

You can filter the user list in the following ways by using the dropdown menus at the top of the page:

  • License type

  • Permissions

  • Workspace


Removing a user

To remove an existing user, select the delete option from the drop-down menu next to their name and select OK to the confirmation message that appears at the top of the page.


Editing an existing user

The default settings might have been preselected on the Permissions tab of the Team settings, but you can easily modify them as needed.


To edit an existing user, select the edit option from the drop-down menu next to their name.

A pop-up will appear where you update the relevant details, once done click on Save.

You are also able to manage users' workspaces by selecting the Workspaces tab.


Roles and Permissions Matrix

Additional Permissions

Workspace Roles

*only for the personalizations that created an analytics

Did this answer your question?